Understanding Islamic Banking

Difference from Conventional Banking

At first glance, it may seem as though there is little to differentiate between Islamic and conventional banking. Both systems accept deposits from consumers and commercial entities and offer various financing solutions to them. However, specific considerations have been taken to separate the two and ensure that Islamic banking meets Shariah principles.

Understanding Islamic Banking

An interest-free financial system is a contracted definition of Islamic banking that reflects the ideology of Islamic Shariah, which Islamic banking is based on. Effectively, it can be defined as a banking system that adheres to the high ethos and moral values of Islam that is governed by the principles laid down by Islamic Shariah standards.

Specific financial contracts conforming to Islamic principles have been approved by Islamic scholars to be used in financial transactions. Every transaction that Islamic banks engage in is structured based on one or more of these contracts. This system discourages all unethical practices and plays a crucial role in establishing a transparent economic system. In addition, the prohibition of risk-free return and the permission of trading are the foremost ideas behind Islamic banking and finance.

Furthermore, Islamic banks are overseen by an Internal Shariah Supervision Committee (ISSC). ISSC’s are committees comprised of Islamic scholars responsible for ensuring that all operations of that particular bank comply with Shariah standards and principles.

Branches & ATMs

لمحة عن الخدمات المصرفية الإسلامية

الاختلاف عن الخدمات المصرفية التقليدية

للوهلة الأولى، قد يبدو الاختلاف بين الصيرفة التقليدية والإسلامية ضئيلاً جداً، فكلا النظامين يقبل الودائع النقدية من المتعاملين؛ أفراداً وكياناتٍ تجارية، ويقدم لهم مختلف الحلول التمويلية، ومع ذلك، فقد وُضعت اعتبارات محدّدة للتمييز بين النظامين لضمان أن الخدمات المصرفية الإسلامية تتوافق مع أحكام ومبادئ الشريعة الإسلامية.

لمحة عن الخدمات المصرفية الإسلامية

إن أبرز ما يمكن أن نعرف به الخدمات المصرفية الإسلامية أنها نظام مالي لا يتعامل بالربا (الفائدة)، وبشكل أعم فإن الصيرفة الإسلامية نظام بنكي يلتزم بالقيم والأحكام والمبادئ والأخلاقيات التي قررتها الشريعة الإسلامية الغراء.

تستخدم الصيرفة الإسلامية عدداً من العقود الشرعية المعتمدة من قبل علماء الشريعة المختصين في المعاملات المالية، وتُسخدم هذه للعقود منفردة أوبطريقة مركبة في بعض الأحيان، وتنشد الصيرفة الإسلامية إلى تنمية الاقتصاد وفق الأسس التي تنطلق منها مثل: تجنب المعاملات المحرمة، والتعامل بأمانة وشفافية مع الجميع، وأن الغنم بالغرم، وأنه لا بد من تحمل المخاطر لاستحقاق الربح، وأن العقود تُبنى على تراضي الأطراف، وكل هذه المبادئ مستمدة من أحكام ومبادئ الشريعة الإسلامية.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تخضع المصارف الإسلامية لإشراف لجنة الرقابة الشرعية الداخلية، والتي تتألّف عضويتها من علماء الشريعة الإسلامية الذين يأخذون على عاتقهم مسؤولية امتثال المصرف للأحكام والمعايير المستمدة من الشريعة الإسلامية الغراء.

الفروع وأجهزة الصرّاف الآلي